top of page

Home, Hearth, and Hospitality


Presenting 4312 Bretton Bay Ln., Dallas, in the highly coveted Bent Tree West! 4/3.5/3 with 2863 sqft, pool/spa, fireplace, and so much more! Affordably priced at $460,000 for quick sale.

Walking into this home brings up some of my favorite literary themes: home, hearth, and hospitality. This is no mythological story, however; it’s real life, and life is good! What makes a house a home? Pride of ownership, for one thing, and that is obvious from the first step onto this covered porch with its feng shui fire-red doors, charcoal gray trim, and freshly cleaned windows and brick.

Before we go inside, I must point out that, prior to every listing, I go in to do my usual complimentary staging. As I was doing so here, I watched the owner go over every inch of the house, touching up paint defects that not even my trained eyes had noticed. But the thing that really made me smirk was when he moved some knick-knacks around and placed them ever… just… so... and, I would have done the same thing if I could have seen that high up! I had to laugh, because the owner is a good ole’ country boy (with that country boy charm and class to boot!) who enjoys hunting and the outdoors, and his house is as immaculate as the home of an OCD woman I know personally. ;)

On the other side of the front door, there are so many things I love about this home, such as the pool and spa, the split bedroom and versatile floor plan, and the fact that it’s only one story! But, here’s the thing: I walk into this house and I feel enveloped in warmth and peace. The scraped hardwood floors and rare wood trim, doors, and cabinets, and the wood-burning fireplace make me feel all warm and cozy inside! Today so many homes feel cool and uptight, but not this one. This one has a soul. This one has a story to tell, one in which art, music, and meditation meet and find a place to dwell. This home is a retreat where all of the stress of this ever growing metropolis does not exist.

Yesterday, I met with a new client who insisted we find him a home with high ceilings, because he’s 6’3” tall. Well, those of you with this dilemma would find Bretton Bay to be “just right.” High ceilings and that popular open floor plan that everyone loves can be found here, making this a great home for entertaining, and there is even a custom bar in the living area next to what is now being utilized as the sizable game room with its exterior door to the pool. With regard to this room, I love the versatility here. There’s an en suite bathroom and large walk-in closet, and since it’s private from all of the other bedrooms, it’s a perfect 2nd master, or mother-in-law suite, or because it’s a very large room, a second living, game, or media room.

The kitchen is usually always everyone’s favorite gathering place, and with the eat-in kitchen and breakfast bar, it’s great for just that. I love the bench seating beneath multiple windows, which is sure to be everyone’s favorite spot! The chef would approve of this kitchen, as well, with the walk-in pantry for storage, gas stove, and ample counter and cabinet, and drawer space. Huge formal dining area is open to the living area, and I could just imagine Thanksgiving celebrations with conversation and melodic sounds of laughter ringing throughout the house.

OMG, I do love the master suite! In fact, I would be happy to live there most of the day, every single day! I love its cozy feel within its large space. Yes, I said that, and looking at the pictures, you’ll understand why! Also, since I office at home, I like the fact that there’s an additional private space, with beautiful glass doors and cabinets for storage within the suite. The bathroom with marble, travertine, and natural stone has that truly luxurious spa vibe with ample space for two to coincide. Wonderful counter and storage and a seated vanity, garden tub, separate shower, and 2 walk-in closets complete it to perfection.

There’s so much more I could tell you about this home, including the HUGE backyard that features a heated a play pool, spa, green house, and 2 green side yards that are perfect for children and pets. For more information, you know how to reach me!

As I was walking out, I told the owner, “Tony, everything looks fantastic. You’ve really done a great job!” He replied, “Oh, I’m not finished yet. There’s still a lot I have to do before Thursday.” I know I would do the same, as I am the aforementioned OCD woman who wants to make sure everything is perfect for the new owners. After all, hospitality, in its purest definition, means to make sure people feel at home when they walk through the doors, and this one will be ready for anyone to call HOME SWEET HOME.

bottom of page