top of page

Home is The Porch Swing Beneath Nurturing Trees Because You Are There


This week, I had the pleasure of listing a new home located in my sweet Lakewood neighborhood. 6234 Lakeshore Dr. in Dallas is one of those homes that spoke to me the instant I stepped out of the car and followed my gaze onto the old fashioned, and all too rare today, front porch. I found myself musing on how perfect it would be to share with my 13-year-old son, the only remaining child of my three who hasn’t left the nest! Now I sell a lot of homes, so when one captures my heart, it’s a rare jewel indeed! This 1919 Craft Bungalow beauty beckons us all to a simpler life when family and friends gathered on front porches for reading, storytelling, and the occasional sing song, before following the wafting smell of roast beef and cookies into a well-used kitchen for food, reflection, and more family connection. While I do truly love this home, I also know architects, historians, and artists will revere this period appropriate restoration!

Lakeshore was built for a Mr. Croft, who was a salesman for Dallas Art Glass, a company known for its outstanding and unusual leaded and stained glass. One of these exquisite works is proudly showcased in the family dining room today. Unique to this house are the original windows, doors, and trim, which have been meticulously refinished, and the exterior wood that is also appropriately restored to highlight an exquisitely painted canvas! The attic fan still functions, and it provides a cool breeze for that perfect spring and fall day. To add to the mystical charm of the home, there’s even a secret hidden compartment in the master suite!

For those who love your modern conveniences, this house does not disappoint. Updates include: added insulation to exterior walls, new roof, granite counters and backsplash, ample cabinets, recent appliances, HVAC, electrical, sinks, and hardware, hardwoods throughout, bench seating in the breakfast room with storage, and lighting that accentuates favorite art pieces. There is even radiant heat under the tile in the master bathroom to accommodate those wintry mornings! The two-car garage is finished out as studio space with a vaulted ceiling and sunroof, but it could easily be converted back to a roomy garage!

Two side decks in back are perfect for private moments to sip coffee, read a great book, or extend the party outdoors. This peaceful backyard reminded me of a treasured memory when, as a young girl, I shared a special moment under a pecan tree with my Nana. This is a place to turn back the clock and live in that moment when life was a little simpler and sweeter, and if we really look for it, it still is.

Complimentary Staging by Mindy Farris of The Farris Group, and photos by Brady's Real Estate Photography. Call Mindy Farris for information on this property. 469-569-2968

bottom of page